SOLD SOLD SOLD , $25,000 Above Reserve
Once the Rectory for the Anglican Church Gunning , this Double Brick home is a fascinating link to the past. Offering 3-4 bedrooms, with wood heater, and a host of character features, this is one well worth seeing.
The unique bathroom has cast iron bath and a large shower, . Add a living area and large study/office and you have a great home just around the corner from the tourist hub of the Gunning township, very private rear garden with old English Oak trees plus the shed at the rear of the property provide shelter for vehicles as well as storage. added is two water tanks,
*Established English Oak Tree at front and rear of the property
* The land has a gentle slope to the rear boundary , from the rear taking advantage of a view over the Gunning township and surrounding landscape,
* The Property is in need of cosmetic attention to bring to its former glory
* A pest and building report is available upon request
* all town services
*land size: 1965sqm
*House size: 335sqm
* Zoning is RU5
* Prior to the arrival of Europeans the area around Gunning was inhabited by groups of Aborigines from the Gundungurra and Ngunawal language groups. It has been suggested that the Pajong 'Fish River Tribe' also lived in the area as well.
* The first Europeans onto the Goulburn Plains were Hamilton Hume and James Meehan who crossed the plains in 1818.
* Prior to 1820 the area around Gunning was the "limit of settlement" and settlers were banned from the district.
* Hume (after whom the Hume Highway is named) established a sheep property near Gunning as early as 1821.
* In 1824 Hume departed from his property Yass with William Hovell on the hugely important expedition which explored the land between Yass and Port Phillip Bay. A column by the roadside at Fish River, 5 km east of Gunning, marks their starting point.
* Plans for a town were officially approved in 1838. Land sales in the area began that year.
* In 1840 Hamilton Hume's brother, John Kennedy Hume, who also owned a property at Fish River, was shot dead by members of the Whitton gang while he was trying to help people who had been bailed up at Cooper's Store.
* By 1848 the town had 95 residents, the store and an hotel.
* The railway arrived in 1875 and Gunning was a rail terminus for over fifty years.
* In 1901 Gunning was described as "a prosperous town supplying the needs of travellers, villagers and the surrounding rural community." It had five pubs at the time.
* In 1959 there was a major flood in Meadow Creek.
* In 1993 the Hume Highway bypassed the town creating a new and more interesting historic settlement.
Inspections By Appointment
Peter Mylonas 0408161 628